WHEREAS freedom of speech is a fundamental legal right as set out in Section 2(b) of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which provides “Everyone has the following fundamental freedoms:

b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication”;

AND WHEREAS freedom of speech is necessary for a flourishing democracy with rigorous public debate;

AND WHEREAS society is impoverished intellectually, politically and spiritually without the free expression of diverse opinions;

AND WHEREAS, the growing intolerance to the diversity of ideas in Canada is contrary to the core value in democracy, which is to respect differing views and opinions;

AND WHEREAS attempts to silence and punish those who express certain views are unacceptable in a democratic society;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the principle of tolerance and respect for differing opinions be strongly upheld throughout Canada and those holding non-consensus views be permitted to express them without punishment or disrespect.